The End

Image

 

A Walk Through a Slide

 On the forth slide of my part of the Pecha Kucha, I showed a picture of different people in different places all connected to one computer.  I chose this image because I felt it should us how many people could be at different places at once, but still communicate with others instantly through Web 2.0. I decided that my narrative would successfully be able to describe that building a successful collaborative writing task using the web must involved a shared working space for members to work on with this image. When I went to include a citation into my narrative, I had difficulty at first deciding which would fit best. We had seen so many different videos and read many different things that they were all kind of jumbled into one in my head when I tried to think. I eventually came to the decision of using Sherry Turkle’s “Who am we?” The quote I took was “the internet links millions of people in new spaces that are changing the way we think”. 

This quote originally may have had a different meaning in Turkle’s article, but I thought I could put a twist on it to make it beneficial. My thinking was, the Internet may change the way we think, but the thinking that’s changing may be good? What if before the web, we had trouble thinking of new ideas, or everything we came up with seemed so similar? Well, with Web 2.0 have communication with others at our fingertips, we can share and help one another with ideas. We are able to state the things we feel have been to similar or stale in our head, and have someone possibly from across the world give us a way to strengthen or change that idea.

 This slide I felt, had a big part in my part of the presentation. Each slide I choose was another way to help us build a successful collaboration using Web 2.0 and each tip or suggestion for success built on top of one another. This slide, suggesting a shared working space, is one of the most important tips in building collaborative tasks. If members of the collaboration are on opposite sides of the country, or even the world, how will they communicate or share documents unless they have a shared working environment, such as Google docs, Email, etc.?

 What I Learned about my Blog Topic

 For this project, my group chose the topic “Co-Authorship and Collaboration within Web 2.0”. When choosing this, I honestly had no clue what this even meant. It sounded like something I would be interested in learning about, so I agreed and took on the challenge. When I first started researching, I was lost. I had no clue what I was looking for, or what I was supposed to find. I was just reading to read. However, once I started connected these outside articles with the ones we were assigned in class, things started to make sense. I was able to make connections between the two and develop a better understanding of the topic later on.

 I have found that there are both downsides and benefits of collaborative writing and co- authorship. The benefits I’ve learned are that you can share new ideas with other authors; work in different places at different times, etc. However, I was able to pick out a negative when researching this and it actually happen to be in one of our readings.

 In Dick Hardts “Identity 2.0”, he suggests that all information must be backed up by a credible source. If it’s not, is it really ours? He makes you think about collaborative writing and the credibility of it. When it comes to the writing task, is the whole task considered yours along with the members, or just the part that you wrote? Who does the work really belong to?

 After researching and blogging about my topic, then connecting it with readings, I feel I have a much better grasp and understanding. If I had to choose between friend or foe of collaborative writing however, I would definitely choose friend. There are many more positives than there are negatives and with technology still evolving and as Turkle would say “Linking us in new spaces”, collaborative writing with web 2.0 will only improve.

 Overall I had a good experience with this project even though I found parts of it challenging. I felt it was a good learning experience and opened my eyes to what’s really out there on the web. I was able to explore a topic I was unfamiliar with and better my understanding and make connections in the end. 

Leave a Reply

