Tweeting

Part 1:

To be perfectly and entirely honest, live-tweeting the readings was the most difficult part of this assignment for me. While I both understand and recognize the potential benefits of the activity, such as the opportunity to create dialogue with my classmates about the readings, I felt that tweeting often broke my concentration from the reading. There were a few instances, such as the one pictured below, where I did engage in conversation with my classmates about the concepts behind what we had read, but for the most part, I struggled to make myself break way from the reading and tweet what I had been thinking.

I wish, however, that I had tweeted more, because in reading my classmates’ tweets, I can see the potential for dialogue and discussions of the readings and videos that may have helped further my understanding of them. It is even possible that pausing to live-tweet more often may have helped make the reading a little more interesting, or given my brain a break from processing some of the heavier material.

Another reason, I believe, that I had a hard time with the live-tweeting, was because while I am a writer, I am primarily an artist and art major, and most of the people I had chosen to follow were artists, not writers. I found myself having difficulties in tying together my tweets cohesively, and perhaps this was a result of me imposing rules on myself that I did not need to.

Part 2:

As for the people I followed, as I previously mentioned, they were primarily artists. One in particular was of great interest to me, as he is one of the artists I look up to, and one I have been following for a long time. His name is Jeph Jacques, and he is the writer of a rather successful webcomic entitled “Questionable Content”.  Upon reviewing his tweets, it seems he is moderately active within the Twitter world- he tweets sometimes as little as once a day or as often as several times an hour.

For the most part, he tweets things relevant to his webcomic, such as updates concerning postings, conventions he will be attending, and drawings or sketches he has done.

He also tweets about personal things, such as tattoos, his dog, and his Dungeons & Dragons game. For the most part, his tweets are fairly concise, and often times silly or nonsensical. He does not appear to usually engage in any sort of heavy, serious discussion, nor does he post anything particularly scandalous or dramatic. The majority of his tweets are similar to the one below- simple, straightforward, and lighthearted.

He does not seem to interact with many of his followers very often, although he does converse with other well-known artists, and even Wil Wheaton on occasion. This is supported by the ratio of followers against people he is following. Jeph Jacques has over 70,000 followers, but only follows 125 people, and most of those he follows are artists, sucha s Jess Fink (@JessFink), and Anthony Clark (@nedroid).

Overall, while I follow him because I admire him as an artist, and I enjoy his webcomic, he does not seem to be contributing much to the conversations of the art world. His tweeting is rather frivolous and simple, which is perfectly acceptable, but it is not likely that attempting to converse with him (at least via twitter) will benefit me greatly in my attempts to become a greater part of the artistic dialogue.

Leave a Reply

