A Moment of Silence For My Tumblr

While most of my fellow classmates chose to refrain from logging into their Facebooks for a week, I opted instead to purge myself of Tumblr. I chose Tumblr specifically, because while I am a fairly avid Facebook user, I use it primarily for communication only, whereas Tumblr, I often find myself losing hours in. I run both a personal blog, and a semi-professional art blog, and for thoroughness’s sake, I gave up both of them. In order to save myself from temptation, I also removed the Tumblr app from the homescreen of my phone. This experiment, while difficult at first, surprised me in several ways and actually led to some fairly interesting conclusions.

At first, I was painfully aware of the lack of Tumblr in my life. I had to stop myself several times from typing the url into my browser, although I was successful in staying off of the website entirely. What I think matters more than my struggle with giving up the blogging, however, is what I learned from it. The first thing I noticed was how often I found myself considering logging on to Tumblr. After a few days of habitually stopping myself, I started to think, “What did I used to do with all this time that I now spend on Tumblr?” And I honeslty came up blank. I do not remember what used to fill the space that Tumblr now occupies. Perhaps it was Facebook or some other networking site. Perhaps it was something more productive. Either way, staying off of Tumblr caused me to notice exactly how much time I usually spend on there, which is something I will absolutely take into consideration in the future.

 

The second, and far more interesting observation that I came across was pointed out to me in class. Without my art blog to post artwork and network with, I was at a loss for how to spread and share my work. I was born into an age of digital art. I have never had to haul a portfolio from building to building, showing off all my work by hand. By the time I was old enough and experienced enough to participate in the art community, the entire community had moved online to websites like DeviantArt and Tumblr. This was something I had never stopped to consider before, and it not only shows my age, but it also leads me to wonder what sort of venues I could be missing out on by relying entirely on places like Tumblr and BeHance.

 

Overall, the experience was an eye-opening one for me. It forced me to take stock of exactly what sort of place Tumblr held in my life, and whether or not it actually deserved the amount of time I usually pour into it. I will unquestionably be taking what I learned into consideration, not only for my activities on Tumblr, but on other websites as well.

-Elana Menold

One response to “A Moment of Silence For My Tumblr

  1. I commend you for giving up something that you use for both pleasure and professional purposes. You show how it proved to be a great challenge becasue it’s the only place you could share your work with the word. I think by taking on this challenge you developed an innovative and creative side to you becasue it forced you to think outside the box which is both benefical and cool. You obviously had an enlightening experience from this activity and took the challenge very seriously

Leave a Reply

